The National Women’s Hall of Fame

by Elizabeth on May 24, 2011 · 0 comments

Post image for The National Women’s Hall of Fame The National Women’s Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by men and women in Seneca Falls, New York. The reason for the hall was to commemorate women who had made a positive change - like Elizabeth Cady Stanton, who helped start the women’s suffrage movement. There are currently 236 women inducted into the National Women’s Hall of Fame. The list is very interesting. Names like Lucille Ball and Oprah Winfrey appear next to Abigail Adams and Sacagawea. It’s also interesting due to the prominence and list of radical feminists such as Gloria Steinem, Margaret Sanger and Betty Friedan. Take a look at the list. What do you think? Have you heard of many of the women on there before? Who would you like to know more about?

Previous post:

Next post:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment